Knowledge of our Catholic Church


Precepts of the Catholic Church                                           

  • To attend Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation
  • To fast and abstain from meat on appointed days.
  • To fast and abstain from meat on appointed days.
  • To confess one's sins at least once a year
  • To receive Holy Eucharist during the Easter time
  • To contribute to the support of the Church
  • To observe the laws of the Church concerning marriage
  • To join in the missionary spirit and apostolate of the Church


Fasting and Abstinence

  • Lent is the traditional time for penance and self-denial, as is every Friday throughout the year. During Lent and on Fridays Catholics should practice some form of self-denial, the form of which is left to the individual. After all, what is sacrificial for one person is not for another.
  • Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are to be observed as special days of Fasting and Abstinence. Fasting means reducing the amount of food which we would normally eat. Abstinence means not eating meat.
  • The law of Fasting binds all those who are between eighteen years of age and sixty years of age.
  • The law of Abstinence binds everyone (except for the frail and the sick) once they have reached their fourteenth birthday.
  • Parents are urged to foster the spirit and practice of penance among those who are too young to be subjects of either law.


The Seven Capital Sins are:                                                              

  1. Pride
  2. Covetousness
  3. Lust
  4. Anger
  5. Gluttony
  6. Envy
  7. Sloth


Gifts of the Holy Spirit:

  1. Wisdom
  2. Understanding
  3. Counsel
  4. Fortitude
  5. Knowledge 
  6. Piety
  7. Fear of the Lord